The Importance and Meaning of 5 Kalima

In Islam, the Five Kalimas hold deep importance as they encapsulate the core beliefs of a Muslim. Kalima, which translates to “word” or “phrase,” is derived from Arabic. These brief expressions contain basic Islamic principles, serving as a spiritual guide for believers. Understanding the significance and meaning of the Five Kalimas allows us to heighten our connection with Allah, strengthen our faith, and find guidance in our daily lives. Today’s blog explores the importance and meaning of each Kalima, providing insights into their profound impact on a Muslim’s spiritual journey.

1 Kalima – Kalima Tayyabah

  • Arabic: لَا إِلَـٰهَ إِلَّا اللهُ مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُولُ اللهِ
  • Transliteration: La ilaha illa Allah Muhammadur Rasulullah
  • Translation: There is no deity worthy of worship except Allah, and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.

The first Kalima, known as Kalima Tayyabah or Kalima Shahadah, is the declaration of faith in Islam. It states: “La ilaha illa Allah, Muhammadur Rasul Allah,” which translates to “There is no god but Allah, Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.” This Kalima is the foundation of the Islamic faith and serves as a testimony of belief in the oneness of Allah and the prophethood of Muhammad (peace be upon him). By reciting this Kalima, Muslims affirm their commitment to monotheism and acknowledge the finality of the Prophet Muhammad’s message.

2 Kalima – Kalima Tamjeed

  • Arabic: أَشْهَدُ أَنْ لَا إِلَـٰهَ إِلَّا اللهُ وَحْدَهُ لَا شَرِيكَ لَهُ وَأَشْهَدُ أَنَّ مُحَمَّدًا عَبْدُهُ وَرَسُولُهُ
  • Transliteration: Ashhadu an la ilaha illa Allah, wa ashhadu anna Muhammadan ‘abduhu wa rasuluhu
  • Translation: I bear witness that there is no deity worthy of worship except Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger.

The second Kalima, known as Kalima Tamjeed, is a declaration of the greatness and majesty of Allah. It states: “Subhan Allah, walhamdulillah, wa la ilaha illa Allah, wa Allahu Akbar,” which translates to “Glory be to Allah, praise be to Allah, there is no god but Allah, and Allah is the Greatest.” This Kalima teaches believers to recognize and acknowledge Allah’s limitless power, mercy, and superiority. It instills a sense of humility, gratitude, and awe in the hearts of Muslims, reminding them of their ultimate purpose in life – to worship Allah alone.

3 Kalima – Kalima Tawheed

  • Arabic: سُبْحَانَ اللهِ وَالْحَمْدُ لِلَّهِ وَلَا إِلَـٰهَ إِلَّا اللهُ وَاللهُ أَكْبَرُ وَلَا حَوْلَ وَلَا قُوَّةَ إِلَّا بِاللَّهِ الْعَلِيِّ الْعَظِيمِ
  • Transliteration: Subhan Allahi wal-hamdu lillahi wa la ilaha illa Allah, wallahu akbar. Walā ḥawla wa lā quwwata illā billāhi l-‘aliyyi l-‘aẓīm
  • Translation: Glory be to Allah, and all praise is due to Allah. There is no deity worthy of worship except Allah, and Allah is the Greatest. There is no power or strength except by Allah, the Exalted, the Mighty.

The third Kalima, known as Kalima Tawheed, emphasizes the concept of monotheism and the uniqueness of Allah’s attributes. It states: “La ilaha illa Allah, wahdahu la sharika lah, lahul mulk, wa lahul hamd, yuhyi wa yumit, wa huwa hayyun la yamut, bi yadihil khair, wa huwa ‘ala kulli shayin qadir” which translates to “There is no god but Allah, alone without any partner. His is the sovereignty, and He is the praise and capable of all things.” This Kalima strengthens a Muslim’s belief in the oneness of Allah, recognizing Him as the universe’s sole Creator, Sustainer, and Controller.

4 Kalima – Kalima Tamjeed

  • Arebic:لَآ اِلٰهَ اِلَّا اللهُ وَحْدَهٗ لَا شَرِيْكَ لَهٗ لَهُ الْمُلْكُ وَ لَهُ الْحَمْدُ يُحْىٖ وَ يُمِيْتُ وَ هُوَحَیٌّ لَّا يَمُوْتُ اَبَدًا اَبَدًاؕ ذُو الْجَلَالِ وَالْاِكْرَامِؕ بِيَدِهِ الْخَيْرُؕ وَهُوَ عَلٰى كُلِّ شیْ ٍٔ قَدِیْرٌؕ
  • Transliteration:la ilaha illallah wahdahu la sharika lahu, lahul mulku wa lahul hamdu yuhyi wa yumitu Wahuwa Hayyu-l Laa Yamootu Abadan Abada. Dhul Jalaali Wal Ikraam. Biyadihil Khair. Wahuwa Ala Kulli Shai-in Qadeer
  • Translation: None worthy of worship except Allah. He is the only One. No partners for Him. For Him the Kingdom. And for Him the Praise. He gives life and causes death. And He is Alive. He will not die, never, ever. Possessor of Majesty and Reverence. In His hand the goodness. And He the goodness. And He on everything powerful.

The fourth Kalima, known as Kalima Tamjeed, is a supplication expressing the glorification and acknowledgment of Allah’s greatness. It states: “Subhan Allahi wal hamdulillahi wa la ilaha illallahu wallahu akbar, walā hawla walā quwwata illā billāhil ‘aliyyil ‘azīm” which translates to “Glory be to Allah, praise be to Allah, there is no god but Allah, and Allah is the Greatest. There is no power and no might except with Allah, the Exalted, the Great.” This Kalima serves as a reminder of Allah’s infinite power, His sovereignty over all affairs, and the reliance of believers on His guidance and support

5 Kalima – Kalima Radd-e-Kufr

  • Arebic:اسْتَغْفِرُ اللّهَ رَبِّىْ مِنْ كُلِّ ذَنْبٍ اَذْنَبْتُه عَمَدًا اَوْ خَطَاً سِرًّا اَوْ عَلَانِيَةً وَاَتُوْبُ اِلَيْهِ مِنْ الذَّنْبِ الَّذِىْ اَعْلَمُ وَ مِنْ الذَّنْبِ الَّذِىْ لا اَعْلَمُ اِنَّكَ اَنْتَ عَلَّامُ الغُيُبِ وَ سَتَّارُ الْعُيُوْبِ و َغَفَّارُ الذُّنُوْبِ وَ لا حَوْلَ وَلا قُوَّةَ اِلَّا بِاللّهِ الْعَلِىِّ العَظِيْم
  • Transliteration: Astaghfirullah Rabbi Min Kulli Dhambin Adhnabtuhoo ‘Amadan Aw Khata-an Sirran Aw ‘Alaaniyata-wn Wa-atoobu Ilaihi Min-adh Dhambi-l Ladhee A’lamu Wamina-dh Dhambi-l Ladhi Laaa A’lamu Innaka Anta ‘Allaamu-l Ghuyoobi Wasattaaru-l ‘Uyoobi Wa Ghaffaaru-dh Dhunubi Walaa Hawla Walaa Quwwata Illaa Billaahi-l ‘Aliyyil ‘Azeem.
  • TRANSLATION : I seek forgiveness from Allah, my Lord, from every sin I committed knowingly or unknowingly, secretly or openly, and I turn towards Him from the sin that I know and from the sin that I do not know. Certainly You, You (are) the knower of the hidden things and the Concealer (of) the mistakes and the Forgiver (of) the sins. And (there is) no power and no strength except from Allah, the Most High, the Most Great.

The fifth Kalima is known as Kalima Radd-e-Kufr, which means the rejection of disbelief. It is a powerful statement that affirms Islamic belief and rejects any form of association with false gods or beliefs. The Kalima states: “Allahumma inni a’udhu bika min an ushrika bika shai’an wa ana a’lamu bihi wa astaghfiruka lima la a’lamu bihi, tubtu ‘anhu wa tabarratu min al-kufri wa al-shirk, wa min al-kadhibi wa al-ghibati wa al-bid’ati wa al-namimati wa al-fawahishi wa al-buhtani, wa a’udhu bika min al-ma’thami wa al-maghrami, wa al-ma’atifi wa al-malhati, wa al-hawami wa al-hazami, wa al-‘asqami””

This Kalima seeks refuge in Allah from associating any partners with Him, seeking forgiveness for any unknown sins, and repenting from disbelief, polytheism, lying, backbiting, innovation in religion, spreading immorality, false accusations, and all forms of sinful acts. It is a powerful declaration that cleanses the heart and strengthens the individual’s commitment to the pure teachings of Islam.

The Five Kalimas in Islam serve as concise expressions of faith, glorification, the oneness of Allah, and the rejection of disbelief. They encompass the fundamental beliefs of a Muslim and hold profound spiritual significance. By reciting and reflecting upon these Kalimas, Muslims can strengthen their faith, deepen their connection with Allah, and find guidance in their daily lives. The Kalimas remind believers of their purpose, instill humility, gratitude, and awe, and protect them from deviating from the path of Islam. Incorporating the recitation and understanding of the Five Kalimas in our lives enables us to uphold the core principles of Islam and seek the pleasure of Allah in all aspects of our existence.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *